Summer 2020 participants above: Steven Barrett, Timothy Cronin, Joann De Zegher, John E. Fernández, Timothy Gutowski, David Hsu, Wyn Kelley, Richard Lester, Amy Moran-Thomas, James Paradis, Desiree Plata, Sarah Buie, and Emily Hiestand.

Launched 2020 | Cambridge, MA

In summer 2020, twenty-three Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) faculty members with environmental commitments and interests met in virtual Council sessions over five weeks. Sarah Buie and Melissa Hoffer, of the CUHF Core Team, served as conveners for the two circles. The Council was co-sponsored by the Environmental Solutions Initiative (ESI) at MIT—directed by Professor John Fernandez, and the School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (SHASS) under Dean Melissa Nobles.

The Council format was replicated for thirty-eight staff members in winter/spring 2021 and summer 2021. Based on the overwhelmingly positive feedback from participants, MIT is planning additional Councils for staff and faculty, as well as forming a Steady Council to continue conversations for those who have participated in Council circles.

MIT Climate Portal

Summer 2020 Participants | Summer 2021 Participants | Winter/Spring 2021 Participants | Fall 2021 Participants